Manage group template

47 views March 7, 2019 0

Assign group templates to users retrospectively

When adding single users (Enter single user) and for Import users from .csv file you can select or specify the group template directly during import. When users are imported from an Active Directory via LDAP the group template must, however, be assigned later:

  • Import the users, as described here.
  • Under Control Panel→ Group Templates select a group (left arrow in illus.) and then click on Assign Users (middle arrow in illus.).
  • Then select all the users you want to add to the group (right arrow in illus.) and confirm with OK.
adding user to a group template

adding user to a group template

Set priority of group template

If a user is a member of multiple groups, the valid template for him will be the one closest to the top in the tree structure (left colum in illus.). You can change the position of a template with the option Set Priority (arrow in illus.). Enter a 1 here to move the template into first position (after the Default User Template). With the options Priority Up and Priority Down you can move a template in single steps higher or lower.

group templates: change priority

group templates: change priority

Change group template

  • Select a group template (left arrow in illus.).
  • You can now use Assign Users or Unassign Users to switch the group membership of the users.
changing group template

changing group template

Note! Please note that the properties of the newly assigned group must first be rolled out before they become active (see below).

Retroactive group template rollout

If you set up a template for a group for which the users have already been imported into the user management, then the new template will only apply to those users imported after this time. If you want this template to apply also to all previously imported users, use the Rollout option (left arrow in illus).

Note! If the assignment of a user to a group is changed, the template must also be rolled out again

If, on the other hand, you would only like to add a new aspect to the template (e. g. changes to the settings or apps), use the Rollout button on the right side (right arrow in illus.).

Group management: Rolling out the properties of a template for previously imported users

Group management: Rolling out the properties of a template for previously imported users

If, for example, a new app is added to a group template, highlight the app (left arrow in illus.) and then select the Rollout option (right arrow in illus.). This allows a saving on data volume. If no app is selected, all apps (regardless whether newly added or pre-existing) will be rolled out.

Group management: Rolling out an app for previously imported users (example)

Group management: Rolling out an app for previously imported users (example)

Was this helpful?